top of page

Early Years Foundation Stage

Early Years education focuses on seven areas of learning.

The prime areas of learning are...
CL         communication and language
PD         physical development
PSED     personal social and emotional development


The specific areas of learning are...
L        literacy
M       mathematics
EAD   expressive arts and design
UW    understanding the world

There are 4 key principles that underpin our practice in the Reception Classes at Hintlesham and Chattisham CofE Primary.


A Unique Child  

We recognise that all children are different. We identify and celebrate their strengths and support their areas for development.


Positive Relationships  

Our pupils interact well with each other and with the adults in the school. 

We encourage parents to be involved with their child's education.


Enabling Environments  

Our indoor and outdoor areas encourage exploration, investigation and independent learning. Our displays and resources are well maintained and reflect current learning.


Learning and Development  

Pupils achieve well and make good progress from their starting points. Learning is playful, practical and purposeful and builds upon prior attainment. Our children enjoy coming to school.

ruby gem.png

Click on the gem to see some of Ruby Class' learning. 

EYFS Curriculum Overview

EYFS Progression of Knowledge 

EYFS Intent Implementation and Impact 


Term Plan

bottom of page